Coding my way to confidence

ยท

4 min read

Hi Everyone! My name is Christa. ๐Ÿ‘‹๐Ÿผ ๐Ÿ‘ฉ๐Ÿป

This month, I decided to take part in my first Advent Coding Challenge ๐Ÿ’ป. I've heard about these in the past, but never had the guts to take part. Personally, I've struggled with my self-confidence for a long time and this is a perfect example of where it has held me back. I've never pushed myself to take part in these challenges, as I didn't think that I had the coding skills to be able to.

This is something that I am determined to change in myself! I've realised that a lot of the doubt is just in my head. I've actually been holding myself back from growing, as I've not been putting myself in situations that are pushing my ability... because I'm scared to fail. What I tend to forget is that, even if I were to fail, I've still been able to learn something in the process and that learning is what makes it worth it. ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿผ

A personal goal of mine is to be able to complete a very popular December Coding Challenge - The Advent of Code. To make my first step towards that, I've decided to take part in #Javascriptmas by Scrimba.

I really want to use this opportunity to document my coding journey and hopefully use this to build my technical skill but, more importantly, my confidence ๐Ÿ’ช.

My solutions are definitely not going to be the smartest or most efficient, but you can see how I've gone about solving the challenges. If you have any thoughts on how I can better my solutions, please let me know! I'd love to learn how I can improve ๐Ÿ˜Š

#1: Candies
#2: Deposit Profit
#3: Chunky Monkey
#4: Century From Year
#5: Reverse a String
#6: Sort by Length
#7: Count Vowel Consonant
#8: The Rolling Dice
#9: Sum Odd Fibonacci Numbers
#10: Adjacent Elements
#11: Avoid Obstacles
#12: Valid Time
#13: Extract Each Kth
#14: Maximal Adjacent Difference
#15: Carousel
#16: Insert Dashes
#17: Different Symbols Naive
#18: Array Previous Less
#19: Alphabet Subsequence
#20: Domain Type
#21: Sum of Two
#22: Extract Matrix Column
#23: Social Media Input
#24: Test Your Agility

Hope you have a Merry Christmas Everyone and happy coding! ๐ŸŽ„